Home About Us News Benevolence Links Classifieds Contact Us

Emerald Downs

Muckleshoot Indian Tribe

Washington Thoroughbred Breeders Association

Washington Horse Racing Commission

Washington News

2012 Board Elected by Nomination

The nominating meeting for the 2012 WHBPA election was held in conjunction with the WHBPA Annual Membership meeting on July 11. Slightly less than fifty owners, trainers and guests attended the event which was held in the Morris Aldhadeff Sales Pavilion at Emerald Downs.

After a review of the election process and eligibility requirements for candidates, Nominating Committee chair, Blaine Wright, announced the committee’s nominees and then requested nominations from the floor. Soon, it became apparent, by the limited number of possible candidates, that there may not be a need for the election, which was scheduled for October 9, 2012. Board member, Pat LePley, reviewed the bylaw’s procedure for nomination by election in the event that the number of eligible candidates was less than or equal to the number of board positions available i.e. if all candidates were running unopposed. Upon receipt of Candidate Affidavits the lack of need for an election was confirmed.

In accordance with the WHBPA bylaws, the 2013-2015 Board of Directors began there term of service one week after the original election date on October 16, 2012.

2013-2015 Board of Directors

President: Ron Maus

Owner Directors:
Jack Faublich
Karla Laird
Pat LePley
Sue Spooner
Keith Swagerty
Frank Lucarelli (Alternate)

Trainer Directors:
Robbie Baze
Diane Garrison
Terry Gillihan
Margo Lloyd
Greg Moore


Honorary Lifetime Director: Murdock MacPherson


Back to Washington News Archive